Fashion · Loves

Bump Threads

As the weather cools down I am finding it more difficult to squish the bump into many of my clothes. I’m looking for some staples that will see me through the autumn & winter and that will accommodate the growing bump (and other bits). ASOS has some great maternity fashion especially for the essential tees and camis. But for the bigger ticket items I’d much prefer to buy non maternity clothes that I can hopefully pull out of the closet in a years time and still fit into.

There is plenty of great options amongst the current Witchery collection. I love that most of the tops and jackets are hemmed nice and long, which is perfect for the pregnant folk, especially if you are like me and using belly belt extenders on your favourite skinny jeans and you want to avoid the open fly look. A few of my witchery faves:

Zipper Detail Top
Zipper Detail Top
Coated Sleeve Anorak
Coated Sleeve Anorak
Longline Coatigan
Longline Coatigan

Sportsgirl have an excellent collection of reasonably priced knitwear, again with nice long lines to cover your bump and your bum. Layer a cami with a light knit for autumn and add some comfy tights with flat boots or if your back can cope try some sneaker wedges, ah la Jessica Alba (i adore her street style).

Maternity Cami, ASOS
Maternity Cami, ASOS
3D Leopard Sweater, Sportsgirl
3D Leopard Sweater, Sportsgirl
shell curved hem top
Curve Hem Sweater in Shell, Sportsgirl

I used to be a believer that “Tights are not pants” now i say, “Unless you’re pregnant”! I cannot stop wearing my Lorna Jane sports tights, they are so comfortable and they don’t pill.

Amy F/L Tight, LJ
Amy F/L Tight, LJ

These boots are a mega splurge but really complete the look and leather is totally worth it. When you buy leather they should last yew a few seasons at least, just don’t forget to waterproof them. There are heaps of cheaper options out there, I would advise checking out the material in store to avoid the cheap and nasty vinyls.

Pryce Tan boot, Tony Bianco
Pryce Tan boot, Tony Bianco
Mitch Black Glove boot, Sandler
Mitch Black Glove boot, Sandler

Always keep your eyes peeled, I love bargain shopping and often pick up sweaters in cheap chain stores, like TEMT, Chic a Booti, Valley Girl, Dotti and the like. Add a scarf, statement necklace or an uber cool felt hat and you will be looking chic, pregnant or not!

 

2 thoughts on “Bump Threads

  1. For jeans in the last trimester of my pregnancy I couldn’t fault the ones I got from Jeanswest! Though I still fit my normal jeans up until the final week or two with only a hair elastic to extend the waistband!

    1. I’ve done the elastic thing too, certainly does the trick. And the jeans west jeans are nice, I think you can get two pairs for under $100 as well. Let’s see how big I get, watch this space 🙂

Leave a Reply

